Unit Platforms

A3M

Analysis Metabolism Molecular Modelling

(04 72 43 80 85)

Manager: Isabelle Rahioui (TR INRA, 100%)

Scientific advisors: Pedro Da Silva

Objectives: This technical platform is dedicated to the identification and quantification of amino acids in biological extracts. The extracts may be processed directly to analyze their composition in terms of free amino acids, or after hydrolysis, to determine the amino acid composition of their peptides and proteins. The equipment has also been adapted to measuring the radioactive activity of amino acids during experiments involving radioactive tracers (14C, 35S and 3H). The aim of these amino acid analyses is to respond, for example, to the need for quantification in metabolic studies or nutritional assessments in various organisms.

Techniques and equipment: Amino acids are separated by reversed-phase, high-performance liquid chromatography after pre-column derivation with orthophthalaldehyde (OPA) or with fluorenylmethyl chloroformiate (FMOC), and then detected and quantified by fluorimetry: excitation at 340 nm with detection at 450 nm for the primary amino acids derived using OPA; excitation at 266 nm with detection at 305 nm for secondary amino acids derived using FMOC. The analyses are carried out using a minimum volume of about 10 µL and, for each of the amino acids identified, the quantification limit is of the order of 20 pmol/µL. 

The equipment currently available consists of an HPLC system (Agilent 1100) equipped with an automatic sampler and a fluorescence detector. An HCl vapor-phase hydrolysis station (Waters Pico-Tag) and a flow scintillation counter (Lablogic ß-RAM 4) complete this analytical system. 

Access conditions: This analytical platform is available (depending on the workload) for use by groups from outside the team in various ways: 

i) Internal IFR service. The analyses are carried out by the engineer responsible for the platform and the results are sent to the requesting laboratory for interpretation. The fee charged consists solely of the real cost of the analyses, the labor costs being met by UMR BF2I. 

ii) Collaboration with UMR BF2I. For the joint projects carried out, one or more members of Unit BF2I may be involved in setting up the protocol and interpreting the results. The cost of the  analyses (running costs and labor costs) are met by Unit BF2I, the members of the Unit who take part in the project are co authors of the resulting publications.

iii) External service provision after a contract has been signed. After analysis, the results are returned to the customer who owns them. The billing includes the real cost of the analyses plus the labor costs.

Localisation: This “Analysis Metabolism Molecular Modelling” platform is located at UMR203 BF2I, in the Louis Pasteur Building at the Lyon INSA (Pasteur, Level 1, Room 406.01.08).

Plateaux Techniques

A3M

Analyse Métabolisme Modélisation Moléculaire

(04 72 43 80 85)

Responsable : Isabelle Rahioui (TR INRA, 100%),
Responsables scientifiques : Pedro Da Silva

Objectifs: Cette plate-forme technique est dédiée à l’identification et à la quantification des acides aminés d’un extrait biologique. Les extraits peuvent être traités directement pour l’analyse de leur composition en acides aminés libres ou, après hydrolyse, pour la détermination de la composition en acides aminés des peptides et protéines. Le matériel est également adapté pour quantifier l’activité radioactive des acides aminés lors d’expérimentations avec des traceurs radioactifs (14C, 35S et 3H). Le but de ces analyses d’acides aminés est de répondre, par exemple, aux besoins de quantification lors des études métaboliques ou de bilans nutritionnels chez divers organismes. 

Technique et matériels : Les acides aminés sont séparés par chromatographie liquide haute performance en phase inverse après dérivation pré-colonne à l’orthophtalaldéhyde (OPA) ou au fluorénylméthyl chloroformiate (FMOC) puis détectés et quantifiés par fluorimétrie : excitation à 340 nm avec une détection à 450 nm pour les acides aminés primaires dérivés à l’OPA ; excitation à 266 nm avec une détection à 305 nm pour les acides aminés secondaires dérivés au FMOC. Les analyses sont réalisées sur un volume minimal d’environ 10 µL et, pour chacun des acides aminés identifiés, la limite de quantification est de l’ordre de 20 pmol/µL.

Le matériel disponible actuellement comprend une chaîne HPLC (Agilent 1100) équipée d’un passeur d’échantillons automatique et d’un détecteur à fluorescence. Une station d’hydrolyse HCl phase vapeur (Waters Pico-Tag) et un compteur à scintillation en flux (Lablogic ß-RAM 4) complètent cette chaîne d’analyse., Conditions d’accès:Cette plate-forme d’analyses est ouverte (en fonction de la charge de travail) aux équipes extérieures à l’unité selon différentes modalités :

  • Prestation interne IFR. Les analyses sont effectuées par l’ingénieur responsable de la plate-forme et les résultats sont remis à l’équipe demandeuse pour interprétation. La facturation ne comprend que le coût réel des analyses, le coût de la main d’oeuvre est pris en charge par l’UMR BF2I.
  • Collaboration avec l’UMR BF2I. Pour les projets conduits en collaboration, un ou plusieurs membres de l’unité BF2I peuvent participer à la mise en place du protocole et à l’interprétation des résultats. Le coût des analyses (fonctionnement et main d’oeuvre) sont pris en charge par l’unité BF2I, les membres de l’unité participant à ce projet sont co-auteurs des publications.
  • Prestation externe réalisée après signature d’un contrat. Après analyse, les résultats sont remis au demandeur qui en a la propriété. La facturation prend en compte le coût réel des analyses ainsi que le coût de la main d’oeuvre.
 

Localisation : Cette plate-forme 'Analyse Métabolisme Modélisation Moléculaire' est localisée au sein de l’UMR203 BF2I, dans le bâtiment Louis Pasteur à l’INSA de Lyon (Pasteur, Étage 1, Salle 406.01.08).